Also known as: Bactrim, Bactrim DS, Bactrim IV, Bactrim Pediatric, Bethaprim, Bethaprim Pediatric, Co-trimoxazole, Cotrim, Cotrim DS, Cotrim Pediatric, Septra, Septra DS, Septra IV, SMZ-TMP DS, Sulfatrim, Sulfatrim Pediatric, Uroplus, Uroplus DS

The following information is NOT intended to endorse drugs or recommend therapy. While these reviews might be helpful, they are not a substitute for the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgement of healthcare practitioners in patient care.

Learn more about Sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim.

Ratings Summary

Filter by:

User Ratings

10

   

25% (21)
9

   

11% (9)
8

   

14% (12)
7

   

6% (5)
6

   

3% (2)
5

   

12% (10)
4

   

9% (7)
3

   

7% (6)
2

   

0% (0)
1

   

18% (15)

Key Statistics

6.3/10 Average Rating

87 Ratings with 76 User Reviews

Compare all 303 medications used in the treatment of Urinary Tract Infection.

Reviews for Sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim to treat Urinary Tract Infection

Sort by:

Review by Jeneasterling28: User Rating:  

   

6.0

Septra (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): This medication makes me extremely tired and causes headaches but it seems to be working where other antibiotic treatments have failed to cure my infection. If you are able to tolerate the side effects it’s has been a pretty good therapy for me.

January 12, 2013 4:52 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

10

sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim: Worked just fine. Made me feel a little hungry, it was a little pricey but what can you do? Oh well at least my peeing doesn’t hurt any more.

October 15, 2012 9:36 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

10

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I asked my doctor for a different type of antibiotic to take for this urinary tract infection instead of Cipro. This is my second day taking Bactrim for my UTI and I can already see improvement! It feels like the infections almost gone. I do however get a little bit of an upset stomach so eat something substantial just before taking it and drink a few more bottles of water than normal and you will be golden!

September 29, 2012 10:07 AM
Review by calgenie (taken for less than 1 month): User Rating:  

   

5.0

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Third day of medicine but still having symptoms. Those of you who report adverse reactions and then go on taking the medicine should know that is not a good idea. I am allergic to several antibiotics, and my doc says stop taking at the first sign of any reaction as it can be very serious.

August 2, 2012 9:36 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

9.0

Septra DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Septra DS worked wonderful this time I am only on day 2 with 5 more days to go. I have however taken this and Bactrim DS before. I am quite sensitive to antibiotics but tolerate these well. I usually ask for Bactrim DS due to tolerating it well so that is what MD prescribed. i also take metformin and lotensin and they seem to work fine with this med though i take them at least 3 hours from each other

July 11, 2012 5:21 AM
Review by Anonymous (taken for less than 1 month): User Rating:  

   

10

sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim: The medicine helped me greatly. It took a few days to kick in, though. I didn’t experience any nausea/vomiting that seems to be the most commonly-experienced side effects, but I did experience some constipation and headache. I also felt what I’d describe as being “out of it” and “spacey”. I said and did the most air-headed things. Make sure you take Acidophilus when taking this medicine.

June 11, 2012 4:31 PM
Review by Anonymous (taken for less than 1 month): User Rating:  

   

4.0

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I have been on Bactrim DS for 7 days. After day 3 I began to notice severe headache about 4 hours after taking the Bactrim. Now on day 7, I have not only had headache, but light-headedness/nausea. With only 3 days left, I am going to continue the medicine. My urinary tract infection symptoms have improved finally after 5 days.

May 13, 2012 3:58 PM
Review by Anonymous (taken for less than 1 month): User Rating:  

   

10

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): It works awesome. If you have problems with this medicine it is probably due to being allergic to it, so stop taking it.

May 4, 2012 3:23 PM
Review by Guest1098: User Rating:  

   

5.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I took Bactrim once for a Urinary Tract infection. I can’t remember exactly how many days I was instructed to take the pill, but I know it was over a week. Everything was fine up until the 9th day, then my entire body broke out in hives.

April 22, 2012 2:18 PM
Review by none01:

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I also had similar experiences and side effects like lethargy, shaking, confusion slightly, severe fatigue, headaches, aches and pains, but kept taking the medicine anyway because the pain of a urinary tract infection is much much worse. I’d rather suffer for a short time with these symptoms then suffer with a bladder infection.

April 13, 2012 11:28 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

5.0

SMZ-TMP DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): After being on this for 5 days, my urianry tract infection was *almost* gone. I had to ask for another prescription. During the time I was on it on I noticed shortness of breath, almost twice a day I tasted metal and noticed I had small nosebleeds. I also couldn’t really go out in the sunlight, as it hurt my eyes a lot and my skin felt like it was burning.

March 19, 2012 2:25 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

5.0

Septra (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I’m pretty sensitive to antibiotics and this one really makes me feel sick and tired and now I have an itchy rash. Have finished day 2 still 5 days of this to go.

March 18, 2012 2:42 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

5.0

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Used this medication for three days. It appeared to work well until my urinary tract infection returned a week after I finished the medication. My doctor then prescribed Cipro. My fingers are crossed, praying this cures it.

January 30, 2012 7:25 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

4.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I took Bactrim for 3 days for a urinary tract infections. I found relief only hours after taking the antibiotics but experienced severe nausea that continued to get worse no matter how much water I drank or how much I ate. Needless to say, I will be calling my family doctor to try something else.

January 24, 2012 7:40 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

10

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Works great.

January 23, 2012 2:52 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

4.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Bactrim cleared up my urinary tract infection, but gave me a raging yeast infection. I now request Keflex for UTI’s.

December 29, 2011 11:20 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

1.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I used this medication a few times to treat a urinary tract infections and two times I experienced severe allergic reactions where I had hives on my tongue, neck and face, and they left scars. Be careful.

December 16, 2011 3:04 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

6.0

Septra DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I have a severe allergic reaction. I had extreme rash, with blisters all over my body, including the inside of my mouth. This happened after taking it for three days. It wasn’t a positive experience.

December 11, 2011 4:39 PM
Review by Goosewoman: User Rating:  

   

1.0

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I have bad side effects from all antibiotics, which is why I ended up with a long-standing urinary tract infection. I was given Bactrim DS by my doctor. I was really afraid to take this medications, so I cut a pill in half. I also took 1/4 of a Phenergan to help with possible nausea. I was fine all day. No side effects at all until about 4 hours in. Then I developed extreme body aches, especially stiff neck and a low grade fever (which lasted 3 days). I didn’t take another one, checked my urine with a dipstick and it was clear. Unfortunately the urinary tract infection came back the next day because I didn’t take enough. I tried 1/4 of a pill and had the same side effects 4 hours later. No more of those for me. Going back to the doctor for something else.

November 30, 2011 2:28 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

9.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I took it with almost no side effects. I did have a headache one day, but that could have been from anything. My only complaint was that the pills were huge and hard to swallow.

October 12, 2011 11:41 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

3.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Caused joint and tendon pains, made my hand go numb and ruined my tendon in my thumb so it doesn’t bend right now and sticks in place.

October 3, 2011 8:58 AM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

7.0

Bactrim (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I’m taking Bactrim twice a day for ten days. I was taking five day course of Cipro and had a migraine headache, which wouldn’t go away. Cipro didn’t even help me, I still had white blood cells and blood in my urine which makes for a bad urinary tract infection. The PA gave me Bactrim. I still have a slight headache but the UTI was so bad, I can deal with these side effects. The pressure in my bladder area has subsided and five more days to go. I can handle Bactrim.

September 14, 2011 7:41 PM
Review by suzgrrl: User Rating:  

   

8.0

Septra DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): I am always nervous about taking new medications, especially antibiotics because they usually give me many side effects. However, Septra DS was very well tolerated! I don’t do well with large pills, so I split them in two (since they’re scored for that purpose) and found them much easier to swallow. I took each half about 30 minutes apart and never had any side effects other than a funny taste in my mouth, which may have been from the pyridium (stuff that turns pee orange) for the pain, which I stopped after the first day.

September 13, 2011 10:17 PM
Review by Anonymous: User Rating:  

   

7.0

sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim: This antibiotic cleared up my urinary tract infecton within 24 hours. The morning after I took it I didn’t need to go to the bathroom frequently and had no pain. So that was great. However I am definitely NOT loving the horrible nausea I am experiencing from it, I just feel like I want to vomit. I have never taken an antibiotic in my life before this and I didn’t know it would cause side effects.

September 10, 2011 4:15 AM
Review by redpuff: User Rating:  

   

5.0

Bactrim DS (sulfamethoxazole / trimethoprim): Received a seven day prescription for Bactrim and on the 5th day lost appetite, had terrible body aches, and extreme fatigue. On the 6th day, had a fever, and chills too. Stopped the treatment on the 7th day. Then on the evening of the 8th day developed a rash all over my upper body and face. Pharmacist recommend Benadryl which helped somewhat. Having a urinalysis in a week and surely hope it worked and cleared up my urinary tract infection.

September 4, 2011 6:33 PM

Learn more about Urinary Tract Infection

See also…

 Read story

